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Disclaimer

• The information contained in this presentation is NOT legal 
advice, it is only information.

• The information contained in this presentation generally 
describes the laws and process concerning record sealing and 
expungement.  Each court has it’s own rules and procedures, so 
you will need to contact the court that originally heard your case 
directly for more information.

• An attorney client relationship does not exist between you and 
the Family and Youth Law Center at Capital University Law 
School.



Roadmap

• Sealing convictions

• Sealing non-convictions 

• Sealing adjudications

• Expunging adjudications

• Automatic sealing and expunging

Adult Criminal Offenses Juvenile Offenses 



ADULT CRIMINAL 
RECORD SEALING



“Expungement”

• Civil proceeding – public defenders do not provide 
representation

• “Expungement” is actually record sealing in Ohio, 
but most people/courts still use the old term

• After a record is sealed, it is only viewable by a 
limited number of government agencies

• There are different rules for sealing records of 
convictions and records of non-convictions



Sealing of Adult Convictions

• Must meet all 4 requirements to be eligible

• Only 2 prior convictions

• Eligible offense

• No pending charges

• Waiting period

• Must apply at the court of conviction

• Franklin County Municipal Court:  2nd Floor Clerk of Courts 
Office – 375 S. High Street, Columbus, Ohio 43215

• At least $50 filing fee – some as high as $300

• $50 at FCMC



Sealing of Adult Convictions

•Requirement 1:  Only 2 convictions**

• Applies to misdemeanors and felonies
• I.e. 2 misdemeanors or 1 misdemeanor and 1 felony

• Both convictions are eligible for sealing in the courts of conviction

• Applies to convictions in Ohio and other states

• Exceptions
• Multiple minor misdemeanors 

• Two or more convictions based on the same criminal act

• Two or three convictions were not based on the same criminal act, but 
resulted from the same court proceeding and the convictions were for 
related criminal acts committed within three months of each other.

**The law recently changed – used to be only 1 conviction



Sealing of Adult Convictions

•Requirement 1: Only 2 convictions 
• Exceptions

• Multiple minor misdemeanors can sealed so long as one has only 
one or two other misdemeanors of the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, or 4th degree or 
felonies.  Minor misdemeanors do not count towards the 
conviction count.

• A minor misdemeanor is a ticket-only offense; it is less than a 
fourth-degree misdemeanor. To be a minor misdemeanor, jail-time 
or probation could not have been a possible sentence and the 
maximum possible fine was $150.

• Traffic offenses are never sealable, including minor misdemeanor 
traffic offenses.



Sealing of Adult Convictions

•Requirement 1:  Only 2 convictions

• Exceptions

• Two or more convictions based on the same criminal act will be 
treated like one conviction when you apply to have the records 
sealed.

• The court will consider the two separate convictions as one 
conviction when one applies to seal the records. These charges 
may be charged under the same case number or separate case 
numbers, so long as they arose out of the same set of facts or 
incident.

• Example: You were convicted of shoplifting and resisting arrest 
in the same incident.  



Sealing of Adult Convictions

•Requirement 1:  Only 2 convictions
• Exceptions
• Two or three convictions were not based on the same criminal 

act, but resulted from the same court proceeding and the 
convictions were for related criminal acts committed within 
three months of each other.

• This is entirely within the judge’s discretion.  The judge may decide 
to treat these as one offense, but is not obligated to. 

• Example: You have two convictions for passing bad checks on 
March 1st and May 10th, and you were convicted of both at the 
same court proceeding.



Sealing of Adult Convictions

•Requirement 2:  Must be eligible offense

• There are many conviction offenses that can never be 
sealed, even if the other requirements are met

• Generally:

• Any first (F1) or second (F2) degree felony

• Any offense with a mandatory prison term

• Gun specifications



Sealing of Adult Convictions
• Requirement 2:  Must be eligible offense

• List of ineligible offenses:

• 2903.01 Aggravated murder

• 2903.02 Murder

• 2903.03 Voluntary manslaughter

• 2903.04 Involuntary manslaughter

• 2903.11 Felonious assault

• 2903.12 Aggravated assault

• 2903.13 Assault (*exception: this can be expunged if it is only a first degree 
misdemeanor)

• 2903.15 Permitting child abuse

• 2903.21 Aggravated menacing

• 2903.211 Menacing by stalking



Sealing of Adult Convictions

• Requirement 2:  Must be eligible offense

• List of ineligible offenses:

• 2903.22 Menacing

• 2905.01 Kidnapping

• 2905.02 Abduction

• 2905.11 Extortion

• 2907.02 Rape

• 2907.03 Sexual battery

• 2907.04 Unlawful sexual contact with a minor

• 2907.05 Gross sexual imposition

• 2907.06 Sexual Imposition

• 2907.07 Importuning



Sealing of Adult Convictions

• Requirement 2:  Must be eligible offense

• List of ineligible offenses:

• 2907.12 (former) Felonious sexual penetration

• 2907.321 Pandering Obscenity Involving a Minor

• 2907.322 Pandering Sexually Oriented Material Involving a Minor

• 2907.323 (A)(3) Illegal Use of a Minor in Nudity-oriented Material or Performance

• 2909.02 Aggravated arson

• 2909.03 Arson

• 2909.24 Terrorism

• 2911.01 Aggravated robbery



Sealing of Adult Convictions

• Requirement 2:  Must be eligible offense

• List of ineligible offenses:

• 2911.02 Robbery

• 2911.11 Aggravated burglary

• 2911.12 Burglary (*Division (A)(1), (2), or (3) of section)

• 2917.01 Inciting to violence (*exception: this can be expunged if it is only a first 
degree misdemeanor)

• 2917.02 Aggravated riot

• 2917.03 Riot (*exception: this can be expunged if it is only a first degree 
misdemeanor)

• 2917.31 Inducing panic (*exception: this can be expunged if it is only a first degree 
misdemeanor)

• 2919.22 Endangering children (*Division (B)(1), (2), (3), or (4))



Sealing of Adult Convictions

• Requirement 2:  Must be eligible offense

• List of ineligible offenses:

• 2919.25 Domestic violence

• 2921.03 Intimidation

• 2921.04 Intimidation of attorney, victim or witness in criminal case

• 2921.34 Escape

• 2923.161 Improperly discharging firearm at or into a habitation, in a school safety 
zone or with intent to cause harm or panic to persons in a school building or at a 
school function

• 4510.14 Driving under OVI suspension

• 4511.19 Operating vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs - OVI.



Sealing of Adult Convictions

• Requirement 2:  Must be eligible offense

• List of ineligible offenses:

• 4511.251 Street racing.

• 4517.19 Motor vehicle wholesaler - prohibited acts.

• 4549.02 Stopping after accident on public roads or highways.

• 4549.021 Stopping after accident on other than public roads or highways.

• 4549.03 Stopping after accident involving damage to realty or personal property 
attached to real property.

• 4549.042 Sale or possession of master key designed to fit more than one motor 
vehicle.

• 4549.62 Offenses with purpose to conceal or destroy identity.



Sealing of Adult Convictions

•Requirement 3:  No pending criminal charges

•Not eligible for record sealing if there are 
currently criminal charges pending against the 
individual



Sealing of Adult Convictions

•Requirement 4:  Waiting period
• An applicant must wait a specified amount of time 

after the final discharge of the sentence to apply 
for record sealing.

• Final discharge means that the jail or prison 
sentence has been served, any term of probation 
or parole has been served, and any fines or court 
costs have been paid.

• For misdemeanors (including minor 
misdemeanors) the waiting period is one year 
after the final discharge of the conviction.

• For felonies the waiting period is three years after 
the final discharge of the conviction.



Sealing of Adult Non-Convictions

• Must meet all 3 requirements to be eligible
• All charges dismissed/acquitted

• Waiting period (Grand Jury no bill only)

• No pending criminal charges

• Must apply at the court where the charges were 
brought
• Apply at same location as convictions – FCMC Clerk

• Should not be a filing fee, but some courts charge up 
to $250
• Free at FCMC



Sealing of Adult Non-Convictions

•Requirement 1:  All charges against you 
dismissed or acquitted
• Dismissed = prosecutor drops the case, judge dismisses the 

charges

• Acquitted = found not guilty by a jury or judge

• If you were convicted on one or more of the charges 
that arose out of the same incident, you cannot get the 
dismissed charges sealed unless you are also eligible to 
have the convictions sealed.



Sealing of Adult Non-Convictions

•Requirement 2:  Waiting period for No Bill only

• In cases where a Grand Jury is used to decide 
indictments and the Grand Jury chooses not to indict, it 
is said that a No Bill is issued.  This is also sometimes 
called an Ignored case.

• Must wait 2 years after the issuance of a No Bill to apply 
to have it sealed.

• This is not the same thing as a dismissal for future 
indictment



Sealing of Adult Non-Convictions

•Requirement 3:  No pending criminal charges

• Not eligible for record sealing if there are currently 
criminal charges pending against the individual



JUVENILE RECORD 
SEALING & 
EXPUNGEMENT



Sealing vs. Expungement

•To completely remove juvenile adjudication 
records, Ohio law has a two step process

• Sealing is the first step and means that the court 
moves the record to a separate location and it can 
only be seen by a few government agencies.  

• Expungement is the second step and means that the 
court permanently destroys the record and it cannot 
be seen by anyone.



Automatic Sealing

•Some juvenile records are sealed automatically 

• If youth was arrested, but charges were never filed

• If youth was charged with underage drinking, but youth 
took a class and the case was dismissed

• If the court dismissed the case after a trial or found that 
youth was not delinquent, unruly, or a juvenile traffic 
offender

• If the court found youth was unruly (not delinquent) and 
youth has since turned 18



Juvenile Record Sealing 

• Two requirements must be met

• Must be an eligible offense

• Aggravated murder, murder, and rape are not able to be sealed

• All other juvenile offenses are eligible to be sealed

• 6 month waiting period from the final discharge of case 

• Only if youth is under 18 at the time of application for juvenile record 
sealing

• Over 18 = no waiting period

• Final discharge is the same as adult record sealing – all fines and costs 
have been paid, all incarceration sentences have been served, and all 
terms of probation or other court orders have been satisfied



Juvenile Record Sealing 

• Applications must be filed at the juvenile court where the case 
was originally heard

• And any other juvenile courts if the case was transferred at any point

• Complete the application and include as much supporting 
documentation as possible

• Supporting documentation:  work, school, volunteer, other evidence of 
rehabilitation since juvenile adjudication

• File the application at the Clerk of Court for the juvenile court 
where the case was originally heard

• FREE!  No filing fee



Juvenile Record Sealing 

• After filing the application to seal a juvenile record, local 
court policies determine what happens next

• All courts ask the prosecutor’s office to agree to the 
record sealing or to object

• Some courts will not set a hearing if the prosecutor 
agrees to seal the record

• Some courts will set a hearing even if the prosecutor 
agrees to seal the record

• All courts will set a hearing if the prosecutor files an 
objection to the sealing of the record

• If a hearing is set, the youth will need to be present



Juvenile Record Sealing 

• The judge will make the final decision about whether or not to 
seal a juvenile record

• This decision is TOTALLY within the judge’s discretion.  The judge can 
grant or deny the sealing for any or no reason.

• The law lays out factors that the judge should take into account when 
deciding whether to seal a juvenile record

• Nature of the offense

• Age of the juvenile offender at the time of the offense and at the time of  
application for sealing

• School, work, volunteer and other activities since the time of the offense that 
show rehabilitation

• Any other juvenile or adult criminal record



Juvenile Record Sealing 

• If the judge grants the record sealing application, the youth 
can honestly say that he or she does not have a juvenile 
record

• But, there are some government agencies that can still see a 
sealed juvenile record

• If the youth does nothing else, the sealed record will be 
expunged in 5 years or when you turn 23, whichever 
happens first

• Youth should follow up to ensure this has happened



Juvenile Record Expungement

• Expungement is the step AFTER sealing and means that the 
court permanently destroys the juvenile record and no one 
can see it.

• If you do nothing after your record is sealed, your record will 
automatically be expunged in 5 years or when you turn 23, 
whichever happens first. 

• If the youth does nothing else, the sealed record will be 
expunged in 5 years or when you turn 23, whichever happens 
first

• Youth should follow up to ensure this has occurred 



Juvenile Record Expungement

• Youth can apply for sealed juvenile records to be expunged 
before the 5 years/23 years old timeline

• The process is the same as applying to have a juvenile record 
sealed:

• Contact Clerk of Courts for the application

• Complete the application and include supporting documents

• Attend hearing if one is scheduled by the court

• Usually based on prosecutor’s agreement or objection, but every court is 
unique

• Once a juvenile record is expunged, the record is permanently 
destroyed and no one will ever be able to view it
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